Want to start your business in New Mexico? You must be familiar with the local and state-level laws and regulations to launch your business successfully. Sure, dealing with paperwork and legal documentation is not fun at all, but you must meet the requirements of licensing and registration if you don’t want to face fines or penalties. With our step-by-step guide, we’ll try to make the process of registration and licensure for you as easy as possible. So, let’s dig in!
Licensing and permits in New Mexico are handled both at the state and local levels. Many businesses should obtain a business license in order to operate in the state. The requirements of licensure may vary depending on the location and the nature of your business. Prior to obtaining a business license in New Mexico, you should register your business. Here we have created the main steps you need to go through to register your business in the state:
Office of New Mexico Secretary of State
325 Don Gasper, Suite 300
Santa Fe, New Mexico 87501
To launch your new business in Albuquerque you should obtain a business license from the Business Registration Section of the Planning Department. Each business location is required to obtain a zoning approval in the city and if you change the location you should report it to the City Treasurer.
You should obtain a business license if your business operates within the City limits. The two most common business licenses that Santa Fe offers are:
Since the laws and regulations of licensing vary from city to city in New Mexico, there isn’t a definite answer. However, there are several professions and occupations that require state-level licensing in New Mexico. The most common types of professions offered by the New Mexico Regulations and Licensing Department that demand licensure to operate in the state are:
To operate your business in Albuquerque, New Mexico you should register with the Business Registration Section of the Planning Department. A non-refundable administration fee of $35 should be paid annually. If you fail to pay the annual registration fee by the date of your business opening, you will be charged a $10 late fee per year.
You may also consider obtaining health permits from the City Environmental Health Department. Later applies if your business is in food preparation, liquor sales, or bars/lounges in which there will be inspection fees for each permitted location.