Search and verify licenses

New Mexico Cannabis and Marijuana License

Medical cannabis and marijuana have been legal in New Mexico since 2007. However, the recreational has been legalized only in 2021. Thus, New Mexico residents who are at least 21 years old, can use marijuana and cannabis. They mainly will need a New Mexico cannabis and marijuana license.

In fact, residents can have up to 2 ounces of cannabis at one time. However, the state law allows people to grow cannabis at home. This means that they can have as much cannabis as they need to be planted on their territory.

In many states of the U.S, such as Georgia, recreational cannabis is illegal. But New Mexico has legalized the adult use of cannabis and marijuana.

New Mexico Cannabis and Marijuana Licenses

Whenever you want to start a cannabis business in New Mexico, you must get an NM cannabis and marijuana license. The license type is based on the activity you are going to do.

  • Manufacturer License

The companies that want to manufacture, package, and sell cannabis products should apply for a Cannabis Manufacturer License. The companies can also transport the cannabis and the products made of it to the wholesalers.

The fee for getting a Manufacturer’s License is generally up to $2500 annually. Every additional premise will cost $1000.

  • Producers License

Individuals and companies that just cultivate cannabis and don’t process it can get a Cannabis Producers License. The license allows the companies and individuals to can exclusively deliver unprocessed cannabis goods to other cannabis businesses or sells cannabis products wholesale.

The fee in this case is up to $2500 annually.

  • Cannabis Retailer

Cannabis retailer license will allow a person or a company to distribute cannabis products to approved patients, primary caregivers, reciprocal participants. They are also allowed to deliver the cannabis to consumers directly.

  • Cannabis Courier

The license permits businesses and people to directly deliver cannabis goods to qualifying patients, carers, reciprocal participants, or consumers.

The licensure fee is $2500.

  • Testing Laboratory for Cannabis

The testing lab license gets the samples, gathers, and analyzes cannabis goods. It also has permission to deliver cannabis plants and items made of them to the testing lab and back.

Getting a New Mexico cannabis and marijuana license

To legally buy, sell, process cannabis and Marijuana you will need a state license. Any individual who wants to legally do a cannabis business and is at least 21 years old can apply for a New Mexico cannabis and marijuana license. The applicants mustn’t be convicted of any crime or have an offense in the workplace.

In fact, the state yet makes changes in the licensure laws but some things will remain the same. To be eligible for the license, you should meet the following requirements.

  • You need to be at least 21 years old,
  • At the moment of application, you must have rented or bought a territory where you will work,
  • On the application day, you need to submit your fingerprints. If you have any business partners working with you, they also must submit their fingerprints.
  • Finally, you will need to make a payment. The licensure fee is $2500 annually for big companies, cannabis manufacturers, retailers. People who want to own a cannabis and marijuana testing lab should pay an extra $1000. If they have more than one lab, the fee of $1000 is applicable for each of them.

If you are a small business owner, you won’t need to pay so much. Generally, cannabis small business owners need to pay $500.

What concerns location requirements, the applicants who want to grow cannabis must also have legal documents proving they can water the territory. Besides, the companies should provide a separate building with its own security.

New Mexico cannabis and marijuana recreational license

As we have already mentioned the use of recreational cannabis is legal in New Mexico. Thus, people who are at least 21 years old can use cannabis. The limit is no more than 2 ounces of cannabis in an extract. If you want to use edible cannabis the limit is no more than 800 milligrams. However, New Mexico residents can have larger amounts of cannabis in their homes. The New Mexico state approved a law on June 29 making recreational cannabis personal legal statewide.

For now, New Mexico residents can grow no more than 12 plants of cannabis. It is allowed in the case two adults who are at least 21 years old live in that house.

In fact, you don’t even need a permit to grow cannabis on your territory for personal use. You only need some feet of territory and good seeds. Experts even claim it is a kind of easy work to plant and grow cannabis at home.

Medical Cannabis in New Mexico

The use of medical cannabis in New Mexico is legal since 2007. Any individual who is at least 21 years old can buy, own, sell no more than 2 ounces of cannabis (that is 56 grams) and edible cannabis of 800 milligrams. As we have mentioned it is legal to grow cannabis at home. It means you can have more cannabis if it is not in a public place and is in a special container.

The use of medical cannabis is legal. People who have incurable diseases and need to relieve pain can apply for a New Mexico medical card. The medical card will allow patients to use about 8 ounces within 90 days. If the patients are not in the state to personally go and get cannabis, they can have a caregiver to buy instead them.

Whenever the state accepts the documents to give the patient a medical card, he/she can get about 4 plants and 12 seedings.

In order to be eligible for a New Mexico Medical Card, people must meet some requirements:

  • First of all, the patient must be at least 18 years old.
  • He/she must get a special document signed by a physician proving the need for cannabis and marijuana for treatment.
  • Later, the patient must submit an application form.
  • Patients will need proof of identity.

The medical cards are valid for one year. Thus, every year the patient will need to renew it. The renewal applications must be filled in 30 days before the card expires. In some cases, you will need to make a payment. However, the NMDOH doesn’t require payments for processing patients.

The qualifying conditions for New Mexico Medical Card

In order to be eligible for a New Mexico medical card, a person should be at least 18 years old and have one of the below-mention illnesses.

  • The Disease of Alzheimer’s
  • ALS/ Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
  • People who have Anorexia, Autism, Hepatit C, HIV/AIDS are eligible for a medical card.
  • Wasting syndrome or Cachexia
  • Patients with incurable diseases such as cancer, multiple sclerosis, etc.
  • The disease of Chron
  • Seizure disorders/Epilepsy
  • Health issues connected to eyes such as glaucoma can cause severe pain. That’s why people who have glaucoma can apply for a medical card.
  • The patients who need special hospice care
  • Diseases such as Huntington’s disease, Parkinson’s disease can be eligible for a medical card.

Other diseases that can qualify a patient for a medical card are:

  • IBM/Inclusion-body myositis
  • Arthritis (Inflammatory autoimmune-mediated)
  • ICD-10-CM
  • LBD/Lewy body disease
  • OSA/Obstructive sleep apnea
  • Neuropathy
  • PTSD/ Post-traumatic stress disorder

Can I use cannabis if I am not 21 yet?

No. The New Mexico residents that are up to 21 years old cannot legally buy, use or sell cannabis and marijuana. If you have been caught using marijuana and you are not 21 yet, you can be sent to a mandatory four-hour educational program. In some cases, you will need to do four hours of community service.

Can I smoke cannabis in public places?

No. In fact, people who are at least 21 can have up to 2 ounces of cannabis and marijuana with them. However, you cannot use them in public places. You can only use cannabis at home or in a dispensary. In other cases, you will have to pay a $50 penalty.

Amalik B

Amalik is a junior content writer. She has graduated from YSU as a pedagogy philologist of the French language. During a year of her experience as a content writer, Amalik has written content for several websites and took part in some social media campaigns. Since 2017, she has been a volunteer in PAVU being an interpreter in various events. Nowadays she is also volunteering in Children of Regions, and in the frames of some projects teaches English and French.

US License Lookup by State

US
License
Lookup
by
State